OK, so as I sat down to the computer today, I was thinking that I need a new self improvement plan. Now, I recognize that this is probably inspired by the constant TLC and HGTV that I watch during the day (better than a soap opera for background noise wouldn't you say?).
Here's my dilemma , there are so many different ways that I could think of to "improve" myself. I put that in quotes because I don't really think there is anything WRONG with me, I think maybe I could use some tweaking in certain areas though and tweaking myself doesn't sound quite right in this context.
Here is a list of options that I thought of earlier (OK that's a lie, I'm thinking these up as I type them):
1. Lose weight
Do I really need to lose weight? I'm 5'2" and I weigh (um, let me find my scale, hang on a sec.....) 134.6 lbs. My BMI is at 24.6 which (yes, I had to look it up) means that I am still a healthy weight but only .4 of whatever units they guage by away from being considered overweight. ICK! I was just playing around on the BMI site I was using (yes, I do think I'm a little ADD thank you very much) and I would have to get clear down to 101lbs before I am considered underweight EWWWW! But anyway, so I guess yeah, I could afford to lose a few lbs, so this one is in the running.
2. Dress better
Do I need to dress better? Ummm, probably. See my problem is that I'm cheap and my financial priorities are wack. Seriously. I would rather spend my money going to the movies with a giant tub of popcorn and a 1500oz bucket of pepsi than spend the money on a new shirt that I won't like as soon as I get it home anyway. Bah. Do I like having new clothes? YES YES YES. quite the conundrum isn't it? Dang it. This one is in the running too.
3. Decorate my house
Yes, this needs done, I think I have to ability and creativity to do this as well. Drawbacks... Financial issues (see above excuses), lack of tools (my husband has a few tools, but I like to do things like build my own tables, and I simply don't have the tools to do those big projects), and lack of freedom to do what I want because I'm a renter so I'm stuck with white walls and green carpets, pink laminate counter tops from the 60s (seriously, we are talking baby pink with gold speckles throughout, makes me want to wear a ruffly apron and a beehive hairdo when I'm washing the dishes) with black and white checkered tiles on the floor of my kitchen. This one will probably go on the back burner, but I dunno, I would like some new furniture...
4. Become a better cook
ehhh I'm not a bad cook, but I'm not an adventurous one. I don't even have the excuse of having a finicky eater in the house anymore, because my son has started trying new dishes and has realized he likes more stuff. My husband will eat anything I put in front of him (even if he isn't hungry) and my girls are learning how to cook (beyond pancakes and tuna casserole) so they like trying new things.
Anyway those are the four that came to me this morning. Anonymous reader, if there is even one out there at this point, I'll let you know what I decide to do soon.
P.S. I walked the dogs yesterday and it was GORGEOUS outside. Loved it!
Tuesday, March 16, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment